Thread: Welding fuel tanks?

Default Welding fuel tanks?

I am a TIG welder and have been since the 80's (god I am getting old). I remember welding alot of small plane tanks back then that would fracture, I think the mechanics said they were stored with not enough fuel...??? I can't remember the exact reason. Anyway I was wondering if you guys have ever had this problem with cracks in fuel tanks? And if you have is it even legal or ethical to weld a tank? The reason I am asking is I am renewing my certifications, and shopping for a portable tig rig. I am not a pilot or an airplane mechanic, so I thought you guys would be able to give me advise. I work in the Fairbanks area.

I TIG welded the tanks for the plane I'm building...0.040, 5052 and they should work fine. I did have a problem with my 170 tanks that are 68 years old...seam cracked but I'm pretty sure that was age and vibration, not how much fuel I kept in the tanks.

Not sure about Fairbanks but a good tank welder is a real find around here. Most won't touch them...A&P or not.
    Somewhere along the way I have lost the ability to act politically correct. If you should find it, please feel free to keep it.

Someone welded the tank to build it so what is wrong with welding to repair it?
    DENNY

Could be like welding the muffler on my old Chief . . . seemed a bit thin, but it still took the very careful weld.

Quote Originally Posted by boneguy View Post
    Someone welded the tank to build it so what is wrong with welding to repair it?
    DENNY
    The gasoline inside it?

We weld on fuel tanks all the time, even with diesel and gas in them, just have to know how to not blow your self up. It takes a lot of Carbon Dioxide gas to make sure it does not explode. It is very spooky to weld them, I have only had one tank, a small one I did not purge correctly, explode on me. What a rush. There were a lot of fittings open, so no metal shards flew, I thought the world was ending.

z987k