Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Surge Brake Question

Question Surge Brake Question

Being an absolute newbie to surge brakes, I have a question about them - When towing at 55mph can a headwind activate the surge brakes? I have made a couple of ~ 5 mile test runs trying to dial in a new equalizer hitch driving down to the Potter Marsh weigh station on windy days & depending on the wind speed + direction, when I get there or home it seems like the trailer brakes are pretty hot for such a short run. This afternoon the run down there had a tailwind + no heat built up getting there, but turning around & coming home with a headwind the drums were hot to the touch. Bearing buddies have plenty of oil & brakes aren't hanging up so I'm wondering if this is normal?
    2007 24ft NorthRiver OS
    Twin 175 Suzuki's
    "Thunderbird"
    MMSI #338033856

Not normal, seems something is amiss.
    Bk

Quote Originally Posted by akdeweyj View Post
    Being an absolute newbie to surge brakes, I have a question about them - When towing at 55mph can a headwind activate the surge brakes? I have made a couple of ~ 5 mile test runs trying to dial in a new equalizer hitch driving down to the Potter Marsh weigh station on windy days & depending on the wind speed + direction, when I get there or home it seems like the trailer brakes are pretty hot for such a short run. This afternoon the run down there had a tailwind + no heat built up getting there, but turning around & coming home with a headwind the drums were hot to the touch. Bearing buddies have plenty of oil & brakes aren't hanging up so I'm wondering if this is normal?
    The brakes only activate when the actuator pushes against the hitch so a headwind would have the opposite effect. Chech all of the adjusters on each wheel and make sure none of them are hanging up.