Thread: Advice on Sonotube foundation HELP

Default Advice on Sonotube foundation HELP

Let me start with the fact that I am brand new to building. I built a chicken coop and that's it. This summer I am building a 16x20 cabin on my land in Willow. 2 weeks ago I went and dug 9 holes with a hydraulic digger about 4' down. I used 4'x8" sonotubes and filled with concrete. I placed a J bolt in each one to attach a bracket for holding the beams. So 3 rows of 3 tubes each, Then laying a 20' 4x12 treated beam across each one. Creating a three 20' horizontal beams spaced 8 feet apart. So I created a platform to lay my subfloor on. I plan to attach the subfloor to the beams with thread rods later on.

THE PROBLEM. After I poured the tubes I realized I should have made the footings wider by adding bigfoot footings or at least belling out the bottoms and lifting the tube after the pour. This would prevent jacking and also provide more weight distribution...Well too bad I didn't think of that when I poured them. SO they are 8" wide and have 42" below ground...leaving the top 6 inches or so above grade. My Question is what to do now!? I have sandy soil with a touch of clay/silt...hard to tell, but mostly sand below the 12 inch line. Well drained area...sits up higher than everything around it. Large birch and white spruce trees present. No water pooled up in the holes even after that rain we just had.

I have been told by a few local builders that "its no big deal...a cabin that size is fine on 8inch feet since I dug down so deep into undisturbed soil ...and unless its really wet/silty soil, frost-jacking would not be a problem either since I have good drainage."