Thread: Newbie Frustration/Cast Bullet Questions

Default Newbie Frustration/Cast Bullet Questions

Folks,

I'm very new to handloading and am approching the hobby from a very cautious perspective. After several months of study I decided to load 38 specials for target shooting through a .357 mag. I've inherated RCBS equipment and so going with loads from the Speer manual seemed a natural choice. I wanted to start with lead swc's because the jacketed bullet loads in the manual are DNR loads and I want to start slow and work up. I cannot purchase these bullets in Anchorage to save my life!

Frustrated, I ended up in Great Northern a couple weeks ago where a gentlmen gave me a screaming deal on some lead cast bullets (165 grain 38 cal # 357446). and sold me a Lyman Reloading manual. The Lyman manual lists lead cast bullets but not the exact ones I bought.

Wanting to load my first rounds "by the book" I ended up switching gears and finding some 44 spcl Speer bullets in town that will work (Ill shoot my first batch through my 44 mag this weekend).

Now I've got several hundred cast bullest on my shelf waiting to be loaded. My question is this, can I use published data for any 165 grain 38 cal bullet? If not, can someone point me to some data for this specific bullet?

Sorry for the length of the post, any help would be appreciated.

- JRT

Find yourself a copy of the Lyman Cast bullet Handbook. You can find the loading information and answers to question you will have there. Good luck.

jrt34,

Al's right the Lyman Cast bullet Handbook will give you the info you need.

That 357446 cast SWC is a standard 38 spcl bullet and is loaded at 900 fps with 5.0 grs of unique. Those components have bben around a while, I think that is the first bullet I ever loaded in a 38 spcl. Load anywhere from 3.5 to 5.0 grains of Unique or 4.5 to 5.5 grains of SR4756, or 3.5 to 4.5 grains of W231.