Thread: Newish to offshore/bay fishing. Looking for boat. Need advice

Default Newish to offshore/bay fishing. Looking for boat. Need advice

A little about my self:
    Born in Anchorage, mother born in Ketchikan. Moved to Idaho when I was young. Came back to Alaska because of the Army and plan on staying. Half of my family live in Anchorage and came up during the summers. I have been out a lot, but never really navigated. I have a lot of experience in freshwater, but ocean water is obviously much different.
    Looking for a good entry level boat for around 10K. I will only be cruising around K-Bay and PWS. My family has a cabin in Homer with friends that have a cabin in a couple bays across K-Bay. I also already have a 15' achilles inflatable with a 30hp
    The main purpose is to get across to Tutka, China Poot etc... to get to the cabins, hiking and exploring. I would also like to do a little halibut and salmon fishing in the safer areas. Fuel efficiency, low maintenance priority. I wont be going far offshore.
    What I have been looking at: 90% of the time, the boat will be cruising around K-Bay in and out of the far side bays, McDonald Spit, Seldovia etc...
    1) C-Dory 16ft angler
    2) HC Searunner 18ish
    3) 19' Kalamath with twin 35s
    4) Bayliner Trophy
    5) Seaswirl Striper

Ive heard good things about the Kalamaths, but an enclosure would sure be nice and the wife would be much happier . We have no kids yet...
    Thanks for your opinions, expertise and advise !