Thread: float hunt newbie

Default float hunt newbie

I'm a veteran moving to north pole next winter from eagle river. from what i gather float hunting is the way to go up north. i have been watching a lot of videos on youtube to educate myself a bit. I'm looking to buy a freighter canoe, any suggestions on which makes are the best? also which motors are good to have for a freighter canoe? to say i am stoked about moving north is a understatement. i love the outdoors and always treat her with respect. id jump at the chance to go out with another expeirienced hunter to learn some tricks of the trade. any info received will be greatly appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by KBBA View Post
    I'm a veteran moving to north pole next winter from eagle river. from what i gather float hunting is the way to go up north. i have been watching a lot of videos on youtube to educate myself a bit. I'm looking to buy a freighter canoe, any suggestions on which makes are the best? also which motors are good to have for a freighter canoe? to say i am stoked about moving north is a understatement. i love the outdoors and always treat her with respect. id jump at the chance to go out with another expeirienced hunter to learn some tricks of the trade. any info received will be greatly appreciated.
    Float hunting may be over rated. It's hard to compete with the motorized crowd. Either way, you have to get off the river and walk the swamps and get up high to glass the swamps.

Look into calling to the moose, it works real well, the last week to week an 1/2 of the season not to say it won't work at other times
    lots of DVD's an books on how to do it , it all works just some work better that others SID
    PS some times the moose is real slow, other time he will run , you will learn what works for you

Quote Originally Posted by HikerDan View Post