Thread: Bait/Lure Advice Fairbanks Area

Default Bait/Lure Advice Fairbanks Area

Hello all,

I'm still pretty new to the Fairbanks area and I've been able to get a little fishing in here and there but this summer I'm looking to getting a lot of time in. I was wondering if I could pick some people's brains on set ups for various fish. The majority of freshwater fishing I've done in my life has been for trout and catfish so I don't have much experience using jigs, spoons, or lures. Some fish I would like to target are pike, char, grayling, and burbot. I'm not looking for anyone's secret spot or honey hole just some advice on tackle. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Rapala jointed shad 6 inch fire tiger heavy braid line like 30lbs to pull loose from snags without losing lure. $8. Lure
    lamprey cut ,5oz weight single hook 8/0 find slack water toss in let sit
    Got to look good even in defeat. IMAGE is everything.

Is that for pike?

burbot fish like catfish

pike, I like red & white spoons, 8"wire leader, they eat/kill anything/everything that moves in the water.

grayling, # 0 silver mepps spinner, I use 4 06 lb test, small ultralight rod, any small silver spinner

char, (wild trout type fishing ) bigger spinners, rapala, minnow imitations.

Quote Originally Posted by Rak.444 View Post
    Is that for pike?
    Jointed shad pike
    lamprey for burbot
    Got to look good even in defeat. IMAGE is everything.

Quote Originally Posted by mudbuddy View Post
    burbot fish like catfish

pike, I like red & white spoons, 8"wire leader, they eat/kill anything/everything that moves in the water.

grayling, # 0 silver mepps spinner, I use 4 06 lb test, small ultralight rod, any small silver spinner

char, (wild trout type fishing ) bigger spinners, rapala, minnow imitations.
    I didn't see this the other day. Thanks for the info!