Thread: Copper River Rocks

Default Copper River Rocks

I love dipping the Copper River even though it's pretty dangerous (relatively speaking). I have always wondered if it was possible to put an anchor of some sorts into the rocks to tie yourself off on. Just like the rock climbers do when they climb. I was thinking of putting a few in that stay there permanently so everyone could use it. I know nothing of how these work or even what type of rock we fish from (north bank). Any ideas or inputs as to the good/bad of this? I'm not doing it for sure, but I have been thinking of it.
    -At what point does "against all enemies foreign and domestic" apply to politicians?

It certainly is possible to place such anchors but you really need to have knowledge of rocks and placing anchors before doing so willy nilly. I've been climbing for ~30 years and without a working knowledge of anchors and rocks you and easily install something that looks perfectly good but wouldn't even hold your body weight let alone arrest a fall or in the case of the copper a dunking. When installing a permanent anchor you need to consider not only how it will perform when you install it, but the affects of weathering on the anchor and the rock.

Here is my current setup for placing permanent anchors

A little bit of overkill is good when you factor in questionable rock and the affects of weathering and corosion which is why I prefer to use 1/2" anchors.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

There are usually trees or stout bushes to tie off to. Otherwise, bring some climbing chocks to place in some cracks. You could go as far as placing pitons, but you'll only be fishing for a few hours or a couple days, so there is no need to drill to place a permanent anchor.