Thread: In need of fishing advice for Juneau, AK.

Default In need of fishing advice for Juneau, AK.

Hi Guys,
    Im in need of some tips and pointers for fishing in Juneau. This is my first time going to Alaska, my trip is set for the first of July. Im going to visit some friends who are working there this summer, so I'll have plenty of time to go fishing. However I will be mostly fishing from shore And the rivers. Im Looking to catch halibut and salmon. I'll be talking to some of the local tackle shops but I'd appreciate all the help I can get. Any pointers for tackle? Lures, bait, rod/spinner reel/line set up? Also what are some great fishing locations that are relatively close. Anything to help point me in the right direction Helps. Please give me your input! Thank you.

Call these folks up in Bountiful. tel:801-298-8060

http://docwarners.com/contact

they know the area and are also local to you and me based out of UT with a lodge near Juneau. Mark lives in Juneau and can put you in touch with what you want.

Thank you for the information Carolinaboy, I will give them a call.

You can go down by the hatchery in town, at the head of the ramp is a coffee shop, they will rent you a rod, reel, and hooks, go to the end of the dock, cast out, jerk real hard, watch the others, when you get a fish on, reel it in and bonk it on the head, do not forget to get a license. You can snag in salt water. have a cooler to put your fish in, at Walmart or Freddies, get the Styrofoam one, cheep, but they do not last long. get the fish vac packed and frozen, get a shipping box, and take it home. Or go up to Auke bay, ask around if anyone is going fishing, volunteer to help pay for fuel, maybe they will take you out for a few hours. Good luck.