Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alternative to wood flooring

Cool Alternative to wood flooring

The current floor in my boat is the marine coated plywood, and warped. The fine folks at a boat shop somewhere's in south big lake were kind enough to winterize my boat, leave it nose down in the parking area, let if fill with rain, and kindly freeze solid.
    Needless to say, it's trashed. And no, what happens in storage is "not their responsibility"... Uuuuuaaarrggh... Anyways..

I've looked at some options from the guys at CAC Plastics. Their UHMW and C-Board options are nice, but $$$. They have another type of plastic that's fairly light and strong, a little bit less $$, but I've no experience with it. Not sure who does... How do ya keep plastic from being slick when wet? Or can you?

Going all aluminum has its appeal too, but not sure if I want to stitch weld it or screw it down. If screwing it down, how do you keep it from rattling loose?

It's still usable and I can go run it, but it's coming out at some point and I'd like to use something other than wood..

I'm looking for suggestions, options, ideas, and possibly photos. Any and all are greatly appreciated.

Thanx folks...

Bummer re: the great dis service by the boat shop. I'd consider a small claims action against them. Just because someone says they are not responsible doesn't mean they are not. Plywood is cheapest and durable. Be sure to seal the heck out of it..particularly the edges and anywhere you attach anything. One of the forum guys re did his and used a product available at Home Depot and probably Lowe's called "Deck Restore". It is waterproof and Non slip.

I'll consider that product...

(and the small claims action too)...

Thanx Gary...

3/16" diamond plate aluminum makes a nice floor + sikaflex the edges to seal it up.
    2007 24ft NorthRiver OS
    Twin 175 Suzuki's
    "Thunderbird"
    MMSI #338033856