Thread: Radar ?

Default Radar ?

Anyone used this radar unit from garmin http://www.gpsnation.com/p/garmin-xh...FQqEfgodE7oATQ ?

Also looking at the GMR 18HDRadome unit from Garmin.

I am researching radar units for a potential new boat purchase. I've never used radar before and am going to go with Garmin for the electronics. Looking for something that is lower end priced but still functional.

We have the dome. Nice sealed unit, no complaints.
    Bk

I have the garmin 18hd radome. Haven't used it much out of necessity, but I have used it just trying it out. It picks up other boats just fine. Probably not on the same level as furuno or raymarine, but it's functional
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

I either have the 16 or 18, can't remember right now but it works good. Have only used it a few times in the fog or just to keep track of traffic in Passage canal on the Sunday run to the harbor.. I don't think you can go wrong a garmin for just everyday use. If you were wanting to do AIS and target tracking then I suspect there is probably better but for fog navigation it will work fine.
    2007 Kingfisher 2825 - Stor Fisk

Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -- Hunter S. Thompson

in my opinion radar is unnecessary in PWS 99% of the time, so cost per look is pretty expensive. I'd spend the money on a good autopilot or other better suited boat goodies. Radar that has low kw's doesn't see much and the radars that have the good power cost GOOD bucks.

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

I am/was kind of thinking the same thing Steve - - but still want to learn about them. I go out of seward too and sometimes the fog there can be pretty thick.