Thread: .338WM Handloading options

Default .338WM Handloading options

I found out the extremely accurate federal load I have been shooting is being discontinued. Therefore, I have decided that I will begin handloading .338WM this fall. I was lucky enough to come across an assortment of .338 bullets at a garage sale, and could not pass them up for the price. Safe to say, I will never get a deal this good again. My question is, where should I start? Does anyone have pet loads that people have found to work extremely well with any of these bullets? I realize every rifle tends to like different loads, but it would be nice for a decent starting point. I also know there are other "better" bullets out there, but I would rather use what I have first. I should also mention I have handloaded before. I am by no means an expert. I am looking for tips on which bullets to use, and a good starting load, from people with experience (.338 WM experience preferred.) Any handload info is appreciated though.

Bullets:
    200GR Nosler Ballistic Tip Spitzer
    200GR Hornady Spire Point
    225GR Hornady Spire Point
    225GR Speer Soft Point Boat Tail
    225GR Kodiak Super Premium Bonded Core (AK Bullet Works)
    250GR Nosler Partition Spitzer
    250GR Kodiak Super Premium Bonded Core (AK Bullet Works)

Specifics:
    Caliber: .338 WM
    Rifle: 1971 Factory BAR
    Range - 200 yds (however I tend to fire at targets less than 150)
    Game: Moose, Brown Bear, Black Bear
    Shooter: Experienced and loves to practice.
    Goal: An accurate handload that is tailored for Brown Bear and Moose, using the existing inventory of bullets.

I understand there will be differing opinions, and I will gladdly listen to them all. Thank you in advance. This could potentially save me quite a bit of time and money in the decision making process.

For that caliber, and that kind of game, I'd load up the 250 grain Nosler Partitions and never look back. (so long as they shoot well in your rifle.)