Thread: Rainbow/dolly flies for Anchorage area

Default Rainbow/dolly flies for Anchorage area

Hey everyone. I just got to start some actual fly fishing while on vacation in VA and I'd like to keep it going now that things are about to thaw out a bit. I'll be visiting a local shop as soon as I get back home (I'm still in VA) but I wanted to do a little research in the mean time. What I'd like to know is what sort of insect hatches are common in the Anchorage area and what flies should I look into for trout? I have a 5wt set-up. I'm still learning the basics so any other good info is appreciated. I won't ask for any secret fishing spots but are any local rivers fishable right now? Thanks for any help, and sorry if these questions are a bit repetitive!

Quote Originally Posted by TDent1 View Post
    Hey everyone. I just got to start some actual fly fishing while on vacation in VA and I'd like to keep it going now that things are about to thaw out a bit. I'll be visiting a local shop as soon as I get back home (I'm still in VA) but I wanted to do a little research in the mean time. What I'd like to know is what sort of insect hatches are common in the Anchorage area and what flies should I look into for trout? I have a 5wt set-up. I'm still learning the basics so any other good info is appreciated. I won't ask for any secret fishing spots but are any local rivers fishable right now? Thanks for any help, and sorry if these questions are a bit repetitive!
    We have a flesh fly hatch and a plastic bead hatch that happens nearly all yr long. Check the regs for available rivers to fish.
    Your sarcasm is way, waaaayyyyyyyy more sarcastic than mine!

I've had great luck with an array of dry, nymph and streamer patterns. I'd sure stop by Mossy's and have a chat with him once you get back. The right folks are passing through his shop all the time.