Thread: Pressure signs with published load

Default Pressure signs with published load

I'm new to reloading and just started on my new .30-06. I'm loading 180gr Hornady BTSPs with Varget and CCI 200s, and using the data from Hornady. I'm showing some slight cratering even at my starting load of 44.0 grains that gets slightly more pronounced at each increased powder charge up to the maximum of 47.0 grains. Taking into account this is my first rifle caliber i've reloaded, i haven't noticed any other pressure signs that i've read about. I couldn't distinguish any harder extraction than factory. The primers have some very slight flattening. There aren't any pronounced extractor marks, but i have CRF action, so will those even show up? A couple of these recipes turned out to shoot pretty well, without a bench that is, but it's a brand new rifle to me and i'm really cautious about reloading, i don't want to break anything. If anyone has any thoughts, i'd love to hear it. I've found a lot of information saying that both it's a sign of high pressure, and that it's unreliable to use as a sign of pressure. What do you guys have for me? Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by livealaska907 View Post