Thread: AGM vs. Lead Acid Batteries

Default AGM vs. Lead Acid Batteries

Does anyone have any experience with using an AGM vs. lead acid battery for their boat?

I like the idea of no maintenance, faster charging, and lower rates of discharge during storage for the AGM, but I have no actual experience with them. I currently have 2 lead acid batteries (1 house; 1 starting) that are charged with Blue Seas ACR, and am considering replacing the lead acid house battery with an AGM. Based on discussions with Blue Seas, there should not be any problem with charging. I have a Honda 225 outboard.

A AGM is still a lead acid battery, the agm stands for absorbent glass mat, which is the material between the plates.
    They are expensive but excellent batteries, particularly so for a seasonal use item such as boat motorcycle, etc. A particular advantage here in AK is they are unaffected by the cold, in other words they dont lose their charge over the course of the winter. So the likely hood of them freezing is next to none, as long as there is no draw on them. What convinced me was the 12 year life I got out a motorcycle battery, which in the past I would be lucky to get two seasons out of. I bought two for my riverboat maybe 5 years ago, I use to remove them in the fall bring them inside and put on a maintenance type charger, alternating from time to time. In any case the last two years I left them in the boat all winter, -40 and all that, about a month ago I pulled the boat in to swap out a bilge pump. I checked the voltage on the batteries, one was 12.66 and the other was 12.7.

The other advantage is most AGM type batteries are suitable for both starting and house, so dual service in the sense of being able to deliver high amps fast for starting and still endure deep cycling events routinely.

I spent close to 600 bucks for two batteries and that can be hard to swallow, if they give me 10-12 years w/o trouble then I think its worth it.