Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AR-10 Variants, what do you use?

Default AR-10 Variants, what do you use?

I'm thinking of getting one and I'm undecided on which one. I want lightweight, accurate and quality and oh yeah... under $1500.00 so I'm looking at an Armalite carbine, DPMS MK-12, Bushmaster ORC or ?? I'd like to have one as a defensive weapon that I can hunt with.

I had a Rock River LAR-308. The weight was OK, till I put 10 round magazine in, and it was then over my AR weight comfort zone. I sold it. (But I would recommend a Rock River .308 for quality). http://www.rockriverarms.com/index.c...ategory_id=254

I then went with the AR-15 in 6.8 SPC-II and it is everything I wanted from an AR-10 and two pounds lighter.

This is a very good read about the 6.8 SPC-II http://68forums.com/forums/showthrea...C-II-as-a-Hunt

I have a Bushmaster BAR-10 that I got several years ago. I also have a good size scope on the rifle to take advantage to the 308 round. This rifle is NOT light by any means, hence the use of a bi-pod. However it does shoot very well and will group a lot better then I can hold. With the loads I have worked up for it, I can easily make good shoots on caribou out to 500 yards. I know that some well scoff at the long shots, but under the right conditions they can be made.

What's your definition of lightweight? I have yet to see one that falls in that category. I had a Bushmaster O.R.C. model and, with a EoTech on it, loaded magazine, was rather heavy.

Sig Sauer 716 works well, but am putting on an EOTECH Holograph with a magnifier on it.
    My child was inmate of the month at Mat-Su pre-trial Correctional facility.

I'm thinking on keeping it in the 8.5 to 9lbs with the scope. I know that maybe pushing it. My wishful thinking is to have a 308 battle rifle/carbine that can pull double duty.
    Agl4now makes a good point on the 6.8 but I'm trying not to get yet another caliber in the mix.