Thread: Ram mount for Ipad

Default Ram mount for Ipad

I was wondering if anyone is using an ipad on their boat and what kind of mount they are using. I have seen a few online, but I am looking for real life experiences. I am looking for something to mount in the cockpit of my boat, so I can see the display while on the deck drifting,trolling,etc.
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

I've been using an iPad on my boat as a chartploter for three years- I use a Ram mount that bolts one end to my dash and a suction cup on the other end, which I suction to the back of the Lifeproof box on my iPad. I don't suspend it in the air, but rest the bottom edge on a rubber non-slip mat strip. I also Velcro my Blurtooth GPS antenna on the Ram arm and installed a double 12v USB plug at the base to charge them both. I've been in some snotty stuff a few times and with the jet foot on the bottom of the boat she can pound pretty hard in a chop, but I haven't lost suction yet. Probably would make more sense if I had a picture- if I get a chance I'll see if I can find any.
    ~Beer Drinkin don't do half the harm of love makin~. Old New England Proverb
    * 1991 24' Almar Jetline Cabin-cruiser * 2004 16' Lund * 1955 17' Grumman Canoe
    - MMSI# 338169948

I us my IPad as a back up to my main plotter just for the novelty and I have a Navionics Ap on it the works good. my IPad is in an Otter Box case. I use the ram mount that has the spring mount that goes around the Otter Box to hold the IPad. The other end is a suction cup to mount to the dash, or any smooth surface. The suction cup and the retention head hold very good. What I like about the suction cup end is you can move the mount to different areas or different vehicles. I uses the IPad and mount in my Polaris Ranger sometimes. The Ram mount suction cup holds better than I ever thought it would, but then Ram Mount systems are some of the best.
    Retirement Plan - Having Fun and Still Learning