Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 2nd Degree of Kindred

Default 2nd Degree of Kindred

Ok, as I am prepping to move up permanently in 2016 I have been looking at the various regs and this question keeps popping up: What proof is required of a nonresident to show that they are indeed 2nd degree or closer relation to a resident while hunting one of the restricted species? If after I am a resident, I take my brother-in-law who is married to my wife's sister we have completely different surnames, etc...how can we prove this? I'm really sure that this is abused, but I want to be sure that we have whatever proof may be required of us prior to an LE coming to check.
    Thanks.

1. Since he is the husband of ones spouses sister, I don't know if he counts by the Brother in Law definition.

Residency Definitions, Alaska Department of Fish and Game

"Second degree of kindred" means a father, mother, brother, sister, son, daughter, spouse, grandparent, grandchild, brother- or sister-in-law, son- or daughter-in-law, father- or mother-in-law, stepfather, stepmother, stepsister, stepbrother, stepson, or stepdaughter (5 AAC 92.990).
      1. A brother-in-law (plural brothers-in-law) is the brother of one's spouse or the husband of one's sibling. A sister-in-law (plural sisters-in-law) is the sister of one's spouse or the wife of one's sibling.

Yes, you can take your wife's sister hunting with you under this regulation. Your wife (resident also) may take her sister and her husband hunting. Or call an enforcement officer.

Where is that definition for brother-in-law coming from? I couldn't find it in either the code or the ADFG definition.
    Regardless, even if I were to take my wife's brother, similar problem. I know I can do the 2nd degree kindred, but I am curious about what proof is required?

Quote Originally Posted by Utarded View Post
    Where is that definition for brother-in-law coming from? I couldn't find it in either the code or the ADFG definition.