Thread: Advice on fishing the east side of the Denali Hwy

Default Advice on fishing the east side of the Denali Hwy

I drew the attached tag and plan on bringing my father up for the hunt (a little hunt/fish combo!). He is really looking forward to the adventure and catching some fish. The problem is that most of my fishing in AK has been for Salmon down south and I have no experience fishing any of these northern lakes/streams.

As the title suggest, we plan on doing most of our camping around the East side of the Denali Hwy and tips around this area would be extremely appreciated. The map can also give you a general idea of the area.

A few direct questions I have:

-I believe we will be in trout country, but what species are more common in this location?
    -What kind of rod/reel combo would be best? Small Spinning reels and light/medium action rods? I don't currently own any fly rods..
    -What pound test?
    -lures? Spinners? Flies? Topwater?
    -Waders?

I apologies for being a major rookie, but I am Active Duty Mil and grew up catching largemouth in FL lol.

Thanks in advance for the tips your willing to share!

Mark

Edit: I should also add that any links to old threads that may be helpful are also encouraged.
    Last edited by Brian M; 03-19-2015 at 23:05.

Quote Originally Posted by shimano 33 View Post

I drew the attached tag and plan on bringing my dad up for the hunt (a little hunt/fish combo!). He is really looking forward to the adventure and catching some fish. The problem is that most of my fishing in AK has been for Salmon down south and I have no experience fishing any of these northern lakes/streams.

As the title suggest, we plan on doing most of our camping around the West side of the Denali Hwy and tips around this area would be extremely appreciated. The map can also give you a general idea of the area.

A few direct questions I have:

-I believe we will be in trout country, but what species are more common in this location?