Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dog companion on sheep hunt

Default Dog companion on sheep hunt

Hey all, I'm looking for some advice from anyone that has brought their four-legged friend on a sheep hunt. I don't have a consistent hunting partner, and I am a little bit wary of hunting solo on a fly in hunt in Alaska (have hunted solo in the lower 48). Has anyone on here brought their dog sheep hunting with them? If so, where does your dog stay? Do you you bring them on stalks? Where do they sleep? Thanks in advance. Looking forward to sheep season this year!!!

I don't sheep hunt, but I have considered taking my dog on bear hunts when i cant find anyone to go.

I have been practicing with him for a few years now while small game hunting. If I spot something to shoot before he does, I make him sit and stay while I "stalk" and then call him up after I shoot.

If I were doing this on a real bear stalk I would leash him to my pack which he could easily drag but he's leash trained well enough that he stops when he feels the drag of the pack. We practiced that while tending my bear bait site and weasel traps and he did great.

We haven't put it all together on a bear hunt yet but I'm going to try it this summer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A well trained dog can be an asset on a hunting trip. Well trained, being the crucial element.

Sounds like limon has the right idea - utilizing non hunting outings as training opportunities. (non big game, any way)