Thread: 2015 spring bear hunting for college student

Default 2015 spring bear hunting for college student

Hello, I am a college student with University of Alaska in fairbanks, and this year is the first year I am able to hunt. I have spring break this coming week between the 16th-20th of March and my brother-in-law (also a student) are trying to find out if there is any kind of bear hunting opportunities for a 2-3 day bear hunt within driving distance of fairbanks for this next week. I understand its a quite a long shot given that its still pretty early for the bears to be out and at least in fairbanks theres about 2 ft of snow on the ground. If anyone has any intel on fresh bear sign that they've seen this year or if there are places further south that are thawed out or are starting to turn green, and are willing to divulge this info, I would really appreciate it.
    Thanks

I don't know the Fairbanks area but even down here with no snow I'd be shocked to run into a bear right now, prepared but shocked...

If you really want to get out an hunt I'd suggest picking up a coyote howler and giving canines a try, they are in the tail end of breeding season and should still be responding to howls. You'll still be out in the woods just in case Mr. Bear is curious about coyotes!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

thanks for the advice, I may have to dig around and try to find my old predator call I used to have. Normally I wouldnt have even asked about bears yet, but with the milder winter that we have had I thought it wouldnt hurt to ask if there was signs that they had awakened early this year further south by anchorage or valdez

Winter severity often times has little to do with bears coming out. There will be a few rouge bears out and about, perhaps due to denning location but the majority will all still come out around the same time frame regardless of snow depth.
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Quote Originally Posted by BRWNBR View Post