Thread: Dry Suit Footwear

Default Dry Suit Footwear

Just finished purchasing a new dry suit, and now need to think about footwear (it never ends!). I'm relatively new to sea kayaking and would appreciate input on good products and sizing. Do I purchase a size larger than my normal foot size? Warmth factor? Protection for suits sock etc..

What type of kayak? I use sit on tops and a few of us wear the neoprene style wading boots. Definitely several sizes larger so I can get at least two pairs of winter grade socks on.

I don't have any experience with sit inside kayaks.

AlaskaKayakFisher.com
    Guidesak.blogspot.com
    My personal pages...I'm not a guide.

Default footwear

Quote Originally Posted by Kardinal_84 View Post
    What type of kayak? I use sit on tops and a few of us wear the neoprene style wading boots. Definitely several sizes larger so I can get at least two pairs of winter grade socks on.

I don't have any experience with sit inside kayaks.

AlaskaKayakFisher.com
    Guidesak.blogspot.com
    My personal pages...I'm not a guide.
    Looks like I'm talking to the right guy. I have a 14' Hobie Pro Angler (foot propelled).

Quote Originally Posted by tom1tom View Post
    Looks like I'm talking to the right guy. I have a 14' Hobie Pro Angler (foot propelled).

SWEET!!!! You are going to love it! The PA is getting closer to a boat than a kayak, but that has its pros and cons. Where are you based out of???

I have a couple of Hobie Outbacks and a mini-x.

I use these:

http://www.caddiswaders.com/products...oes&product=68

I am going to get one of these...haven't decided.
    http://kokatat.com/products/footwear...g25stqc9p44g77

You will see a lot of kayakers wearing crocs and sandals. But you definitely want something comfortable as the PA is foot propelled...duh?