Thread: Cleaning during the testing phase

Default Cleaning during the testing phase

Lets say you work up 10 loads of 5 rounds each(different powder, bullet etc). So you have 50 rounds total. You hit the range with a clean gun, fire one "fouling shot" and start shooting for accuracy(which round works best). How many shots do you fire before you do a good cleaning?

Personally, Ive stuck with 5x5=25 time to clean. Not sure if this matters, but Im using Barnes X bullets so copper residue is my biggest concern.
    In Nature's Image Taxidermy and Game Calls
    Palmer

I'm pretty new to reloading and have wondered this exact question, so I'm looking forward to hearing the responses from those who have more experience!

Seldom do I clean my rifle barrel during sessions of working up loads. I will start with a clean barrel, but other wise, I leave it fouled during the work up session. I have shot Barnes bullets for several years and they can be a real pain working up a good load. Have fun and keep good records of all of our loads.

I have a great one for .300 winny. Working up 7mm08 for my daughter and .375 for me. The 7mm, I can shoot all day, but don't really want to fire 50 out of the 375!
    In Nature's Image Taxidermy and Game Calls
    Palmer

Depends on the gun. Some guns foul up easier than others depending on the barrel etc... I am kind of like you though. Sometime about 30 shots or so, I clean it and start over. I think I started that after noticing at around 25 shots my old 300 RUM groups would open up, even after several days of not shooting (not recoil sensitivity from 25 shots in a day). Since that was the worst fouling rifle I have ever had, I figure every other gun should be fine with that many shots. For my hunting rifles, 30 shots is a couple times to the range or more so I don't have to clean every time. I bet I don't have to clean so much, but it is my habit and I know the results, so it works for me.

Smile