Thread: Kachemak bay ling cod

Default Kachemak bay ling cod

I've been fishing out of Homer for several years and I have never caught a ling cod inside the bay. I have boated a ling cod in my last two trips trolling for kings in the seldovia area. They were both small, in the 20-24" range, but I am positive they were young ling cod. Is this common for others that fish this area? We had some success catching kings as well

uploadfromtaptalk1425711690586.jpg
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

Seems to be a lot in the area all throughout the water column, I was wondering if it was juvenile fish traveling for food and that they might go find a rock somewhere else to live on.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Is this a new trend, or have you observed it throughout the years? In my experience, it's new.
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

I saw a couple immature lings caught off Seldovia this winter as well. It made me think about it as well. I wasn't broke off any fish that trip. So I guess there weren't and keepers around.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We caught a small ling off of fourth of July creek in December trolling for kings.
    I'm not sure if this is common or not as I don't fish winter kings all that often.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

Charterboat Operator

Not claiming to be the expert by any means, but we have been catching smaller lings for years, both on the north and south side of the bay, typically more in the winter and early sping, though we have caught a few in mid summer. 2 years ago we caught a 38-40 incher in front of whiskey gulch! I attributed that to the fact that the fish only had one eye, appeared to be healthy other than the scar where its eye once was.
    would indeed be curious to see there migratory patterns.