Thread: Ski alignment adjustment for dummies?

Default Ski alignment adjustment for dummies?

Let me preface this by saying that my mechanical skills are sorely lacking and I have very little experience working on snowmachines.

I'm borrowing an older Polaris sled that hasn't been used in years for my friend to use on his caribou hunt this weekend. The skis are far out of whack - the left ski (when seated) is kicked out to the side at least 15 degrees. I'd like to adjust it before we head down the trail, but I'd rather get it right the first time rather than twisting and turning on the wrong bolts. Forgive my use of incorrect terminology, but do I loosen that top bolt that is pointing out, the one that is at the top of the shaft that leads down to the ski? Or do I need to adjust the length/position of the two bars that lead into the steering column? Or am I completely off track here? I've got to assume this is simple enough, but again, I'd rather get it right the first time instead of finding out 20 miles down the trail that I screwed something up.

I'd look for a bent tie rod first. But anyway, your photo shows the lock nut you need to loosen to turn the rod to change the toe-in/out. If no bent rods, do both sides equally. You should probably look on Youtube for a how-to, but at the very least you should equalize the distance between the front and rear of the skis on the inside edges. I'm trying to remember if there is an inside adjustment under the pipe...
    If really extreme, you can (in a pinch) loosen the spline on one ski strut to reposition it inside the tube, but that is drastic. I'm sure someone else remembers better. It isn't hard.

I did look on YouTube, but didn't find anything that actually showed the process - just guys talking about what counts as proper alignment (1/2" toe out).

Is the lock nut you're referring to the one at the very top that is parallel to the ground pointing out?