Thread: Questions for certified A+P/Pilots…..

Default Questions for certified A+P/Pilots…..

I caught the flying bug this winter out in Bristol Bay. I got to check out a plane that was being rebuilt in a shop and thought that looks like a neat way to make a living. I am very interested in getting into flying, looking to start taking flying classes this summer if time permits. My questions are how many of you gained your A+P working for a certified person? Would you have done better going to school? Is there consistent work in the Kenai/Soldotna areas? As far as i have gathered it takes 30 months to obtain your A+P or 18 months for each of on the job training, is this correct?

A little about myself: I have been a Electrician for 9 years working all over the state. I went to school straight out of high school for Industrial Electricity at AVTEC. I have become bored of working in the oilfield and spending weeks or months away from home to make a buck, and am looking to try something else while I am young. I know that if its not for me I already have a good job to fall back on. I have a little experience working on engines mostly my own snow machine and vehicles, plus have helped work on turbines and generators. I understand that if I did obtain a job the pay would be much less than what I am making now, that ill be low man on the totem pole, and that it takes time to obtain a certificate plus pass the test. I have already done this being a electrical apprentice for 8000 hours on the job experience and taking the required testing and schooling. I have had my journeyman license for 4 years, and I also know what its like to train someone who doesn't know much. My main goal is to gain a A+P and a pilots license, buy papered parts and build/rebuild airplanes to sell like cessna's and super cubs for myself. Is this a reasonable goal or is it a bit out there?