Thread: Reduced recoil for 7mm-08

power commuting twixt the valley and anchorage

Default Reduced recoil for 7mm-08

I'm new to loading and I'm apprehensive about loading anything not in a manual. I've read an article on reduced loading and it sites manuals (mostly speer) with reduced loads. My dilemma is that none are listed for 7mm-08. Does anyone know of any tested reduced recoil loads? I don't want to recklessly cutting powder charges down and have risk for see.
    My only gear sponsor is the salvation army - Dick Griffith

Here is one source from Hodgdon;

http://www.hodgdonreloading.com/relo...w-recoil-loads

Depending how low recoil you want to go, trailboss can take you into the subsonic range if desired.

http://www.imrpowder.com/PDF/Trail-Boss-data.pdf

http://www.loaddata.com/articles/PDF...iland%20LR.pdf

Also alot of pistol powders are used for low recoil loads, but that is territory for learning before you leap....

Yeah- do not load anything not in a manual....just a bad idea.

For reduced loads, I've used Trail Boss in several cartridges and it works really, really well.

Remington also produces a reduced "Managed recoil" factory load- I've tried the .308 version and they are quite a bit softer shooting and good for the kids to learn with...enough bang to tell they're doing something serious, but not abusive in light guns.

You can also load some lighter weight 100-120gr bullet loads at starting loads and they'll be easier on the shoulder.
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit

Trail boss is definitely the way to go if you can't find published reduced loads.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Why would you want to down load a 7MM-08?

Quote Originally Posted by AKcaveman View Post

My thoughts exactly. Though I know a guy that loads a few rounds each year with a round ball and few grains of shotgun powder for shooting small game with his 300 win mag.