Thread: travel on lower Birch Creek

Default travel on lower Birch Creek

Greetings,

I'm new to this forum, but already it looks like a great resource with a friendly community. A very short introduction: I'm a student from University of Alberta, in Edmonton, Canada, working on geology of some of the large river bluffs in Yukon/Alaska. Most of our work involves establishing records of plant remains, volcanic ashes, and evolution of permafrost over the last several million years. We've mostly worked on the Yukon - have covered the river from its confluence with the Stewart in Canada down to near Ruby. Our rig is a Harbercraft XS 2175 - a great boat for the kind of work we do.

I'm interested in checking out a site on lower Birch Creek, about 15-20 miles downstream of the Stesse Hwy bridge near Circle. I'm hoping someone can warn me if that stretch of river is a little tight for our 21ft boat. I know water levels fluctuate dramatically depending on rain in the basin. Some colleagues did this trip in a river boat w/ prop in July 2001, but water level data for that time are not available for comparison to current levels. Also, I'm curious how worried I should be about leaving our truck/trailer at the put-in (new truck w/ Canadian plates).

Any comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Alberto

hard to find water too tight for the boat your running.....lol

Default just went up some rivers near that area