Thread: What to do...

Default What to do...

And I suppose also what NOT to do.

I am new to predator calling, but I got out of town Saturday all day and got pretty far out. Have some mouth calls but opted for the Foxpro and used it all day on 5 or 6 different sets.

Thing is, I am just not sure what to do and if I am doing it right.

I used the snowshoe hare to start off every set. I'd kill the snow machine, set up, sit quietly a few minutes, then start the calling. I would call for about 2-3 minutes, then shut it off for a minute or 2, then start again. I did this for about 30 minutes per set before changing much. I then tried the other snowshoe call on there as well. Before I left a set, I'd throw out a few coyote howls to see if anything called back.

In all that time, I only got what I believe was a lynx to respond. It sounded like a big tomcat meowing at me. After it called out, I continued the snowshoe another minute, killed it, it called again but obviously closer (maybe 300 yards out compared to I'd say double that the first time) - I hit the call again, but lowered the volume a bit...never heard from him again and never got a look.

Because I thought it was a lynx, I decided to try the kitten call after no answer from the hare call for a while.

I guess I am just wondering now if I should have waited longer after setting up before starting calls and also if my method is normal or if there is a better way.

I didn't see many tracks....only one area with decent fox and lynx tracks but it was right by the trail and in the middle of calling, 3 machines came by (the only freaking people I saw or heard all day) so I am sure that killed any chance.

Any advice would be helpful. Thanks.

Oh, and I used one of those Quiver Critter hares that vibrates as a decoy. Don't know if that was a good idea or not.