Thread: looking for a new pack, any suggestions

Default looking for a new pack, any suggestions

Im looking to get a new pack for this upcoming season. I've been using an Eberlestock Justone for the past 3 years. Its a great pack and I've really enjoyed it. I really like how i can put everything i need for a week long trip in it with room to spare. The only thing is it's a little on the heavy side weighing in at 7.5 pounds. Looking to drop a few pounds on my next one and still have enough room for a week long trip. Wanna stay in the $500 price range. Any suggestions would be appreciated and please add pro and cons. TIA

Are you looking for a heavy hauling pack for moose and such? If so, most around here would suggest the Barney's pack, including myself. But, they are comparatively heavy. I looked into the Stone Glacier pack for a lightweight load hauler. I don't have any actual experience with it though.

If light is what you're after then you want to look Mystery Ranch, Kifaru or Kuiu. If dead nuts strong and able to carry everything you want, then Barney's Yukon or Pinnacle. Yeah they're expensive but they're all worth it. I have a barney's hunter pack and love it. I've carried stupid amounts of weight in my barney's before and the pack was great, it was the legs under it I was worried about.

if you want to drop a few pounds from 7.5 you will need to increase your budget some. Ounces cost $$$.

Dropping pounds gives you a few choices:Stone Glacier, Exo Mountain Pack, Kifaru Bikini w/ Highcamp bag, or a Paradox by SeekOutside. The bag choices on the Kifaru may not let you get all that light as compared to the SG and Paradox and Exo pack systems.

I have a Paradox and really like it. It reduces the strain on my lower lumbar area making heavy loads more tollerable. I can't haul more than 100 pounds right now, but the pack can handle much heavier loads.