Thread: Buying a gun for Grizzly & Sheep hunt

Default Buying a gun for Grizzly & Sheep hunt

I was planing a diy hunt with my buddy but he bailed out and wants to go elk hunting in Colorado so I have decided to book a grizz/sheep hunt with Jake....I have no experience with purchasing a gun...I'm trying to decide between a .340 Wby, .300 Wby or a .338 Kimber Montana & I have a question....It is quite obvious that almost everyone on this board prefers the .338, but it looks to me like a .300 Wby is more powerful (deadly) gun than the .338 when you look at the ballistics...IF this is the case why wouldn't I get the .300 Wby (less recoil than the other two)...I don't know anything about gun ballistics so I very well might be reading them wrong but I compared the .338 200 gr barnes xfb to .300 Wby 200 gr partition...Thanks in advance for the help

Default Lots of Differences

I will cover just a couple major differences, but there are many. First, the 300 Wby requires a longer action, thus required more wieght, etc. This is a factor in a sheep rifle. For a interior grizzly rifle, the killing power of a 300 Wby or a .338 are not really a factor, they will both kill a bear adequately. If you're not familiar with ballistics, I am assuming you don't reload. If that's the case, you are going to pay probably twice as much for ammo for the 300 Wby. Also, if you look at the ballistics, I would bet the numbers are coming from a 26" barrel in the 300 Wby, and a 24" barrel in the .338. Again, more weight, etc. You might also want to do a search on frontal diameter of a bullet and it's effects on game/killing power. This may be a waste of your time though, considering neither round is marginal for grizzly or sheep. There are other rounds to consider, the .325 WSM, .300 WSM, or the good old reliable .300 Winchester. Everybody will have an opinion, but weigh the facts and make your decision.

Looks like a good post to me Blackfoot. Especially the cost of ammo.