Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 9mm vs 40 S&W

Default 9mm vs 40 S&W

I have been carrying a 40s&w for several years. Mostly a Glock 22 but more recently a FNS-40. I. Practice with my carry often and am confident enough with it to the point where I have killed a few deer with both the Glock and FN. I was pricing reloading supplies in 40 cal the other day and have come to the conclusion that for the price of components to load 1,000 rounds of anything in 40 cal I could buy 1,000 rounds of 9mm already loaded. I sold both my Glock 22 and my FN 40 yesterday and ordered a couple Turkish made 9mms to try. I bought a TriStar L120 & a Canik c55 and 2000 rounds of 9mm ammo and still had a little $ left over from the sale of the two 40s.

I might add that I still have a 41mag, a couple 44s and a couple 22 handguns for hunting and will not hunt with the 9mm's......would shoot a coyote with anything whenever, they don't country.

With the right ammo the 9mm is not shabby at all. VV 3N38 can push a 147gr bullet with at starting charge to 1171fps - 1207fps. That is 451 - 475 ft/lbs. That's not far off some of the 40 S&w loads.

I am not a fan of the 9mm, but they do have a place in the shooting sports and with the new loads they can be effective for self defense. As far as reloading for each, if one watches where they buy components, both the 40 and 9mm can be reloaded at low cost. While there is some 'low cost' ammo out there, they are not always up to standard as to quality! We shoot much more reloaded ammo then we do factory ammo. I am not sure that I would have gotten rid of the two handguns that you did to get the other two, bit that is just me. Good shooting!

Between mentally adjudicated and cybersapce

Personally, I'da stayed with the 40's.