Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bair baiting north of Fairbanks

Default Bair baiting north of Fairbanks

Im new to bear baiting and was just wondering if anybody knows of a good area north of Fairbanks. Not expecting anybody to give away their area just looking for a good starting point. Also I know grizzlies are being able to be taken from black bear baiting stations this year. Are there alot of Browns in that area? Thank you!

Take a run up the Steese or Elliott on a saturday night in late May or early June. When you find a pull out without a vehicle parked, try there. The further you get from town, the fewer hunters you'll find.

You can't go wrong with either highway. Good luck to ya!
    I am serious... and don't call me Shirley.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM2K7sV-K74

Hey I apreciate it. I was planning on going up the elliott about 30 miles

Do you see alot of grizzleys at your stations. And do the bears start coming to your stations right away in april or usually later in spring.

Since nobody else is chiming in... you're bound to find grizz anywhere. If grizz is your target species try cruising some trails and looking for, specifically, grizz tracks and set nearby. They do tend to wander though.
    From my experience, most baits start getting hit in mid to late May and they're in full swing by 2nd week of June.
    I am serious... and don't call me Shirley.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM2K7sV-K74

Quote Originally Posted by jwald5628 View Post
    Hey I apreciate it. I was planning on going up the elliott about 30 miles
    Every G I Joe ever stationed hunts up that way, and yes I was one of them. Plus 30 miles won't get you away from cabins. You have to be a mile from any cabin or home.