Thread: Long Lake, Shirley Lake, Crystal Lake (Willow)

Default Long Lake, Shirley Lake, Crystal Lake (Willow)

I just got some property out in the willow area. I've been exploring the many lakes this winter and have had some luck with rainbows but no luck with pike. I am new to pike fishing. Been fishing weedy stream outlets with hearing on quick strike setups, plus tube jigs with shrimp, rattling lures...nothing! Tried weed beds, weed edges, drop offs, deep, shallow. No pike. My buddy and I have covered lots of water on these lakes by snow machine and used tips ups. I know they are in these lakes but there is clearly something I am missing...maybe its luck. Only caught pike in Minnesota during summer. Would love to figure them out up here through the ice since I'm in the heart of pike country.

Any suggestions on spots or techniques for these lakes? Is it too far into winter for successful pike fishing? I know spring is the best but I know people are catching right now too. Thanks!
    photo-2.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by mbrenna View Post
    I just got some property out in the willow area. I've been exploring the many lakes this winter and have had some luck with rainbows but no luck with pike. I am new to pike fishing. Been fishing weedy stream outlets with hearing on quick strike setups, plus tube jigs with shrimp, rattling lures...nothing! Tried weed beds, weed edges, drop offs, deep, shallow. No pike. My buddy and I have covered lots of water on these lakes by snow machine and used tips ups. I know they are in these lakes but there is clearly something I am missing...maybe its luck. Only caught pike in Minnesota during summer. Would love to figure them out up here through the ice since I'm in the heart of pike country.

Any suggestions on spots or techniques for these lakes? Is it too far into winter for successful pike fishing? I know spring is the best but I know people are catching right now too. Thanks!
    photo-2.jpg