Thread: 2014 Grizzly Hunt

Tupper Lake, NEW YORK IN THE CENTER OF THE ADIRONDACK MTS.

Default 2014 Grizzly Hunt

“THIRD TIME’S A CHARM”
    GRIZZLIES 2 -- SMITH 1

As the rain pours down here in Tupper Lake on the 28th of July, 2014, I decided to start another journal of my upcoming Grizzly hunt in Alaska. I’ve been saving up for two years to make another try at killing a grizzly and have gotten in pretty good condition in that time. I have sent most of my gear and my rifle to my outfitter, Wayne Kubat, up in Wasilla. I’ll be flying out of Albany on September 2, 2014, with a friend of mine. He will be on his first guided big game hunt and is very excited to be going. We are both taking some additional gear with us on the plane and will probably have to whittle down what we can take in our packs when we get there. Both my hunting partner, Scott, and I can only wait anxiously for September 2 to come.

August 23 – Just got a note from my outfitter in Alaska that they had killed a grizzly bear two days ago. He said that the salmon (chum) are in the streams and the bears are showing up. We will be heading to Albany on Monday (September 1) and flying out Tuesday morning at 7:30. I have only one bag of gear to take as all my other stuff, including my rifle, was mailed up back in July.

September 1 – I decided to hit the Saratoga Race Track on the way to Albany and picked up a couple hundred on the way. I hope that’s a sign of good things to come. Eventually got to my hotel, had a nice meal, and hit the sack early.

September 2 - Got up bright and early at 4:30 a.m. and got to the airport at 5:45. I met my hunting partner, Scott, there. We spent all day on planes with stops in Las Vegas and Seattle before finally landing in Anchorage at 7:30 p.m. -– Long Day!! Took a cab to the Anchorage Grand Hotel and unloaded. We then went for supper and a couple of beers at one of my all time favorite eateries—the Glacier Brewhouse. Everything was excellent! Went to bed at 9:45 p.m.