Thread: Beginner tips and advice

Anchorage, Alaska

Default Beginner tips and advice

Hi! The Mrs. and I moved up to Anchorage last spring, and have had a great time so far fishing all summer and fall. We are looking to continue enjoying the fishing through the winter and start ice fishing, but I'm not sure where to start. I have zero experience ice fishing. I have done a bit of research here and on other sites, and feel like I have a decent starting point. I am planning on buying a shelter and gas auger for Christmas (they will be my present from the Mrs, lol). However, I'm looking for advice on the tackle, technique, where to get started, etc.

1. What size rod/reel/line should I get? I know this depends on what I want to fish, but I'm not really sure on that. haha. Any fish that I can catch and eat is what I'd like. I've never fished for or caught char, burbot, pike, so that'd be cool. Also stocked fish like trout that I can get out and fish around town would be cool too, for something to do after work.

2. What kind of tackle? Bait and bobbers? Jigs? I'm a newbie, so still learning the different rigs and setups.

3. Can you help me with a starting list of places to go? I'm thinking I'll start off in town to get my setup and gear figured out, then start going a little out of town, maybe even some weekend trips. Is Jewel Lake a good starting point? Are there any spots somewhat close to Anchorage (1-3hrs) to go for burbot?

4. Heaters...what size do I need? Do most people use the Mr. Buddy type system with a disposable bottle or the kind that mount on top of a large propane bottle?

Thanks and I look to seeing you out there!

Anchorage, AK

I've not had a tremendous amount of experiance, only started ice fishing last January, but I was instantly hooked. You're gettting the shelter and auger so you're well on your way.