Thread: Powder Education

Default Powder Education

I'm new to reloading and knowing that powder's tuff to find, I was hoping to get some ideas of the best shops to check in. I have hit most of the shops in ANCH/MATSU. I'm looking for RL-15, 17,19 and IMR 4350 and 4831, not looking to buy kegs or hoard it, just finished up my reloading set up and need me some powder to get started. Are there any stores like SW or BPro that I am just wasting time expecting to catch a shipment coming in. I'd like to narrow my search. Thanks<br>

I've been having excellent luck lately with powders I need at cabelas, sportsmans and chugiak three bears. The Alliant powders can be very tough to find and go fast when word gets out. Cabelas regularly has imr 4350. Just keep checking, Thursday and Friday for cabelas, and Mondays/ Tuesdays at SW have been most productive for me. Good luck. If you really need, we can work some sort of trade maybe I can help you out. What are you intending to load for most?
    have you looked into imr 4064? It is very versatile and an excellent powder for most popular big game calibers

Release Lake Trout

I have found that either Arctic Ammo, Sportsman in Wasilla and 3 Bears are all places to check from time to time. The other thing I have done is to find 'other' powders that will work for my reloading. I have been able to find Accurate Arms powders for calibers that I load for. While I have to work up 'new' loads with these powders, at least I have been able to get powder to shoot. At times, when the old tried and true powders are not out there, it is time to try something else. Whenever we are out and about, we stop in several places just to check to see if they have any powder. One never knows what will show up when!