Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: For caibou, what hip boot or wader?

Default For caibou, what hip boot or wader?

Never worn either so I have no experience. What is best if you basically have to live in them for a week?

I use Breathable waist high waders and separate wading boots. Simms makes one of the best kinds of both.

A lot depends on where you are going. The only time I wear hip boots when I caribou hunt is getting on and off the float plane. Regular hunting boots for most of the rest. When needed I prefer the hip boots. Ankle fit hip boots would be my choice. But that's only me.

- pant waders or chest waders - like dieNqvrs said, breathable with separate wading boots...
    Taxidermy IS art!
    www.alaskawildliferugs.com
    Your mount is more than a trophy, it's a memory. Relive The Memory!

Area 25A is where I will be headed.

As said, Simms makes some of the best along with Patagonia but they ar pricey for someone who does't have other uses. Cabelas has several models from 100-180 in breathables, boots are from 65-200 if you choose. They will last several hunts.

The modern breathable wader is an exellent hunting tool. Hipboots suck unless you are somwhere dry.....which defeats the point. They wear poorly, are usually rather heavy, have poor ankle support, are a pain to take off, and if it does rain, all the stuff dripping off your coat goes down the tops of htem anyway. With waders you are full on covered, whatever noise they make isn't that big of a deal, especially for caribou. I shot a moose with a bow at 15 yards wearing simms waders and goretex jacket.

Don't be temptedby cheaper neoprenes.....they ahve their place but a hunt is not one of them unless it's ducks.