Thread: Flight up from Michigan in 150

Default Flight up from Michigan in 150

I'm new to flying and looking to buy an airplane a Cessna 150 tail dragger I'm planning on flying it up to palmer with the guy I'm buying it from he is a cfi I will get my groundschool completed and pass the test and get my medical so all I will need is logged time and a solo before my flight test when I get back, I have never bought an aircraft let alone fly to Alaska in one so I am seeking advise and experience from other pilots. I appreciate your info very much and it will help me to do this safely. Also with the standard tanks how far of legs will I be able to get on.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by chris_mcginty View Post
    I'm new to flying and looking to buy an airplane a Cessna 150 tail dragger I'm planning on flying it up to palmer with the guy I'm buying it from he is a cfi I will get my groundschool completed and pass the test and get my medical so all I will need is logged time and a solo before my flight test when I get back, I have never bought an aircraft let alone fly to Alaska in one so I am seeking advise and experience from other pilots. I appreciate your info very much and it will help me to do this safely. Also with the standard tanks how far of legs will I be able to get on.

A very neat and clean looking machine! You'll certainly enjoy the flight through Canada and part of Alaska. I'd recommend you replace the 6.00 x 6 tires with 8.50 x 5 tires, but that's just my recommendation. They won't slow you down much, but if you have to put down on a rain-wet and muddy strip, you'll find them useful.

I don't recall the range on C-150s, sorry . . . Have a fun trip !!!

First tip thanks so much!!

Chris, sent you a pm

1. Make a list of what you need with you in the plane to make the trip.