Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camp fires at moose camp

Default Camp fires at moose camp

The other day I was having a wonderful discussion on the phone with another forum member and he made a statement that I had not heard before. He stated that camps that with no camp fires were more successful than camps that had fires. He said that the fire alerted the moose of your presence. I always thought smoke was a natural smell and typically would not alert animals.

I am by no means a moose expert. So I ask the question. If you were in a remote area on a drop camp, unable to change locations, do you have a camp fire or not?

The last 4 years I've had a woodstove in our tent and had a fire every evening and morning. I can't say I've seen it make slightest difference in the numbers or location of moose that we see

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Born in Alaska: The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. Psalm 16:6

Moose love campfires. Makes them feel romantic.

Makes no difference to moose. My daugher shot her big moose 30 yards from our hunting cabin at 3:00pm with our wood stove going. This year I called in 3 bulls, one my wife shot, while I was calling right from a morning, smoking camp fire. The moose could care less in my opinion..

in my opinion it doesn't bother them at all. we have literally shot moose within 200 yards of camp. more than once. i think its the chopping of firewood that helps too.
    its better to be silent and thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt...

Had a native guy in Galena tell me to pee on the fire at bedtime, then be ready to shoot a bull in the morning. It works.

Quote Originally Posted by extrema View Post
    Had a native guy in Galena tell me to pee on the fire at bedtime, then be ready to shoot a bull in the morning. It works.
    Extrema. How many pee on fire bulls have you shot? Seems like a stinky experiment.