Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What kind of wing covers do you prefer?

Default What kind of wing covers do you prefer?

I have a Cessna 170A. I'm new to flying. My wing and cowling covers are shot. Locally, I see a set of 4 yr old unused polyester covers for sale and a set of used kennon mesh covers with spoilers. I see kennon recommends against mesh if freeze thaw is a big issue. Right now its in willow, but hopefully soon, I'll get it to Wasilla if location sways your opinion. Thanks

mesh/spoilers for sure

I've used both and while the mesh covers have their advantages, I've had them freeze so hard to the wing that I had to put it in a hanger overnight to get them, and the ice, off. Never had that happen with the polyester covers.

Here is Homer we get rain, ice , and snow with sea winds. So the mesh covers freeze to your wings.
    But a place with dry snow and cold wind just begs for spoilers and mesh.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

I have saw nylon covers damage more than one aircraft. One was Cessna ailerons bent up about 90 deg.
    Only once had mesh freeze down hard enough couldn't break them free. Small price to pay IMO

different strokes 4 different folks.

I have had the Alaska Wing covers with the vent slot the length of the wing. Really like them. Easy hook connections and perform well in the occasional windy conditions. Slots do, on occasion, ice down but very minimal, otherwise they have perform well for over 6 years.

Well fitted solid nylon, no spoilers. Mine do fine up to about 35mph winds and after that there's no reason to leave covers on. When I leave town and can't babysit the plane I'll put my mesh w/ spoiler Kennons over the solids. That keeps everything snug in all but newsworthy wind storms. That's the only time I use mesh. Even after a thaw if solids freeze on I can peel them off and go fly.