Thread: Muzzleloader for mountain hunting

Default Muzzleloader for mountain hunting

I am new to the world of muzzleloaders, I am looking for recommendations for a .50cal mountain rifle. I found that Knight makes an Ultra-lite gun and Traditions makes the Pursuit Ultra-lite. The Traditions gun is much cheaper, is this a lower quality gun than the Knight? Thanks for any info.

I shoot a Traditions Vortek ultralight LDR. It's got a 30" barrel so not really light. It's a fantastic shooter with an added peepsight. I think Thompson Centers feel like they are built better but I have zero complaints on the Traditions. I'm not familiar with knights rifles but you usually get what you pay for.

I have an older Knight that's very light, but in 54 caliber. Very well made and accurate, but there's a tradeoff for light weight in muzzleloaders. Recoil goes up the scale really fast as you increase charge weight or bullet weight. And that's contrary to any long range dreams you might have.

I got to messing around with mine, putting a 1.5x5 Leupold scope on it and moving up to max charges just to see what it would do. I'm an experienced heavy recoil shooter, and I picked that scope for its long eye relief, then set it as far forward as possible. Scoped myself good the first shot. Figured I must have held it wrong, so put on my big boy pants and fired it again. Got scoped again. Not being smart enough to leave well enough alone, I tried a different hold for shot #3. That one needed stitches. I also own and shoot a 460 Wby. Granted it weighs more, but it doesn't seem to kick so hard and it's never scoped me.

Thanks for the info guys!

Anchorage, AK