Thread: Modified Lowe

Default Modified Lowe

I'm kind of new to owning boats. I picked up this modified 20' Lowe this summer and love it! It's far from pretty but tough as nails and reliable. It has a Yamaha Pro-V 150 on the back that gets her moving really well and doesn't kill me with the fuel consumption.

The previous owner liked to tinker with aluminum and did a bunch of work to this boat. New extra stout transom, reinforced bow, extended gunnels, jet tunnel, reinforced strakes and even ramps for loading a 4-wheeler or 2. It'll run in some really shallow rivers and handles pretty well to my novice hands.

It's put up for the winter and now I get to dream about all the mods I want to do before next summer. I need to find some saddle tanks and maybe build a sniper platform for next hunting season......
    Attached Images Attached Images

Here's a better shot of the extended gunnels. It ain't pretty but it works and it's paid for.....
    Attached Images Attached Images

Looks like a nice ride.
    BK

Wasilla, behind 3 Bears on the Palmer Wasilla Hwy

I like the looks of it too and a having a paid for boat is the best option possible. I'd think hard about adding the saddle tanks though. While it's great to have the convenience of fuel tanks that are plumbed into the fuel system, it's also nice to be able to grab fuel cans and unload them if you get somewhere where there isn't enough water to float a full load.

Quote Originally Posted by bmunsell View Post
    I like the looks of it too and a having a paid for boat is the best option possible. I'd think hard about adding the saddle tanks though. While it's great to have the convenience of fuel tanks that are plumbed into the fuel system, it's also nice to be able to grab fuel cans and unload them if you get somewhere where there isn't enough water to float a full load.