Thread: Mathews Ovation????

Question Mathews Ovation????

I've been bowhunting since for about twenty years now and have owned roughly 4 bows in that timeframe. I'm not one to buy the latest and greatest. I have a long-time rifle hunting partner of mine who wants to get into archery (pretty much out of necessity due to weighted lottery gun tags where we're at). I'm wanting to start him out on a long axle/long brace height bow for two reasons 1. forgiveness 2. the open terrain hunting we'll be doing (prairie)

I found a bow that really fits the bill IMO the Mathews Ovation. 39.5 axle-to-axle with a 8 1/8" brace height. The bow is used and stripped. It is mint, no scratches, dings, frays, use marks of any kind. I was told it was two years old. It's at a big box store/ Mathews dealer. Price is $350

My problem is... I'm not a Mathews guy. I know very little about their products, other than everyone is on the Switchback bandwagon. Is this a good bow? Do you know of any flaws? Why did Mathews discontinue this line of bows? Fair price (supposed to MSRP new for $700)?

Side note: He isn't looking at buying anything new. He doesn't want to drop $1000 on a bow set-up, not knowing how well he'll like the sport. He's had four shoulder surgeries, so 60# pulls are max.

I'd appreciate any insight....
    "The rich... who are content to buy what they have not the skill to get by their own excellence, these are the real enemies of game".... Theodore Roosevelt's A Principle of the Hunt

Ovation, is a good bow, I still own one. They shoot very well. I have had no problems with mine at all. I bought mine the first year they came out. I use it for indoor and 3D shooting.

The reason they discontiued the bow is they have a newer, faster, smoother bow.

The draw back to this bow it is not a hunting bow. It will be a little noiser than hunting bows, not much but alittle.

It will cost you around $200.00 more to equip the bow.

Rest $40.