Thread: 150 HP Honda Comments

Question 150 HP Honda Comments

Is anyone out there in forumville running a Honda 150 that would care to comment on its performance? I've never been around them so I'm curious if they are the best thing since shirt pockets; maintenance hoes or are they under qualified for boat anchors?
    2007 24ft NorthRiver OS
    Twin 175 Suzuki's
    "Thunderbird"
    MMSI #338033856

I have been running a 150 Honda since 2005,, have never had any issues with it. Not the best for a jet IMHO,, but it is a beast with the prop. Very good on fuel, used 230 gallons on a Koyukuk run over 1000 miles.
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

Stid, how much of that trip was with the prop vs the jet?

Quote Originally Posted by BMhunts View Post
    Stid, how much of that trip was with the prop vs the jet?
    All prop.....
    Founding Member

Awesome engines. I have heard them described as Honda Civic engines with a lower unit. Not sure if that is true or not, but so long as you treat them right they seem to return the favor.
    14 Days to Alaska
    Also available on Kindle and Nook

I have a 150 Honda I haven't had it long though. It's given me no trouble besides having a clog in the water line I'm dealing with right now. I run a jet and average around 3mpg.

Stid, I was wanting to get a prop lower unit for mine. Where did you find yours at? What mpg are you getting with the prop?

Quote Originally Posted by BMhunts View Post
    I have a 150 Honda I haven't had it long though. It's given me no trouble besides having a clog in the water line I'm dealing with right now. I run a jet and average around 3mpg.

Stid, I was wanting to get a prop lower unit for mine. Where did you find yours at? What mpg are you getting with the prop?