Thread: Pros and Cons of posting signs on your trap line.

Default Pros and Cons of posting signs on your trap line.

I'm new to trapping and in my scouting for a place to trap I have seen areas with signs and others that are being trapped but not marked. What are the pros and cons of posting signs along your trap line?

I have two signs on my line, one at the main trailhead and the other where the trail continues on. The one on the trailhead reads............Trapping season is open.............Please be respectful of your fellow sportsman. It is a $500 fine for removing or tampering with a trap or snare, smile you are on camera : ) If you have questions please call -------- or if you wish to report a violation contact the Troopers --------- and I tac a troopers business card on the sign.
    I have done this for the past 5 years and have had zero conflict. Have had a few new trappers call me and ask for guidance on areas that might be available.
    The pros.....lets other users know your in the area. Most people are respectful and won't mess with your gear.
    The con's.........Just the opposite of stated above

I also post my line with signs at most trail openings. Not many cons, the pros are MOST people respect and stay out durring season. Also you would be surprised on how many mushers will go down trails they had never been on before and get their dogs caught. I think signs are a good idea to educate the public..

As a former musher and now trapper, I agree with what Steve said. I was always looking for new trails to train dogs on. If I came up on a snowgo track into a new area, I was always wanting to go explore it. I never had a problem, but I can see how it could happen. I don't use many trail sets for that reason alone. Thats just me and not saying that you shouldn't use trail sets.