Thread: Best Book or Handbook on Alaska Trapping

Default Best Book or Handbook on Alaska Trapping

Hello All, This is the first time I have posted on the trapping forum, and I hope you all can help. I just purchased some land this year, and wanted to try a little trapping. I have no experience trapping in Alaska, the only experience I have is setting snares for coyote and live traps from racoons in Indiana. Instead of you guys giving all your secrets on this public forum, I would be glad to except PMs. Best yet, I would like to know the best book or handbook for Alaska trapping. Marten, fox, wolf, coyote, and maybe even bear. Any help works, thanks a bunch.

Joe

The Alaska Trappers Manual is a good place to start. Used to be able to get it in your local bookstore. Maybe still can. It's available from the AOD store: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/a...anual&cPath=63 Also here: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm...rapping.manual
    and here: http://www.alaskatrappers.org/handbook.html
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

Quote Originally Posted by iofthetaiga View Post
    The Alaska Trappers Manual is a good place to start. Used to be able to get it in your local bookstore. Maybe still can. It's available from the AOD store: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/a...anual&cPath=63 Also here: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm...rapping.manual
    and here: http://www.alaskatrappers.org/handbook.html
    I got it from here, it's a decent start.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

How many acres are you working? What kind of terrain is it?