Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: need a crown redone

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    257

    Default need a crown redone

    No idea how I managed this but I'm sure it took skill...

    Damaged the bore at the crown. Damage put a bur inside the bore deep enough that the normal tricks won't correct my screw up.

    Option 1 is: Anyone have one of the manual reface/crown kits with a .338 pilot they'd rent, sell, loan?

    Option 2: looking for a smith to do the work. Any suggestions?

    Thanks.

  2. #2

    Default

    Call Stan Jackson.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    564

    Default

    Alaskacustom firearms will fix you up

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Thanks. If I had the funds, I'd just by the kit & do it myself.. as it is, guess will see when I can get it done.

  5. #5

    Default

    Stan Jackson would be my first choice.

    Quote Originally Posted by 426nut View Post
    Call Stan Jackson.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    AK
    Posts
    4,034

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdklinak View Post
    Thanks. If I had the funds, I'd just by the kit & do it myself.. as it is, guess will see when I can get it done.
    I was hoping to get a .17HMR cleaned up, local guy wanted as much as I could buy the tool to do it myself for, price the tool before paying someone to do it IF your mechanically inclined...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by limon32 View Post
    I was hoping to get a .17HMR cleaned up, local guy wanted as much as I could buy the tool to do it myself for, price the tool before paying someone to do it IF your mechanically inclined...
    Where did you find the tools for that price? I've looked, and all I can find is in the $250+ range.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    AK
    Posts
    4,034

    Default

    Brownells had them at the time, a couple years ago I think.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Sponsor ADfields's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Missing Palmer AK in Phonix AZ.
    Posts
    6,416

    Default

    It should be done in a lathe, the tool will work but not nearly as well (chatter) as a lathe. I charge $50 for a simple re-crown done in a lathe even with shipping (barreled action is like $20 postage) to me I'd be cheaper than the tool and proper bushings . . . even the little rimfire tool for 17HMR.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Thanks to all for the info.

  11. #11
    Sponsor ADfields's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Missing Palmer AK in Phonix AZ.
    Posts
    6,416

    Default

    If its not too bad you can just lap it with a brass cap nut in a drill with valve lapping compound or even toothpaste.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •