Thread: Mountain hardwear lamina

Default Mountain hardwear lamina

Hi I know this kind of topic has been touched on a lot but I am new to Alaska and in the process of updating gear. Seems a lot of people prefer synthetic over down. I am looking at getting either the lamina (synthetic) or marmot ( waterproof down) what are your thoughts? The bag will be used mainly for hunting kind of want an all around bag if there is such a thing. Already updated to a four season tent now looking at sleeping bags. Thanks for the help.

I use synthetic...but I have never used down so I have no real basis for comparing. I took a friend caribou hunting last winter, temps around zero, and he had lots of high quality down. Seemed happy enough. I had good synthetic. I was happy too. Regardless of the gear, make sure you take care of it and make sure you get what is needed. For camping in zero degrees, you need at least a -20 rating, -40 is probably better. If you are thinking of fall moose hunting gear, then I don't know. I have never gone hunting with anybody during the rainy season that was using down.
    14 Days to Alaska
    Also available on Kindle and Nook

I switched over to treated down this year for both my sleeping bag (Sierra Designs) and insulation layer (pants and jacket - Kuiu). I am sold on it. I was really pleased with how it wicks moisture, and the weight difference is substantial.

Whether down or synthetic, I feel a guy really needs two sleeping bags to hunt all the seasons in Alaska. I have synthetic bags and they work fine. A -30 and 20 and I'm actually considering a third bag, a 0 degree down bag
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

I ran across this but haven't seen the final test results so this is just for FYI:

Down