Thread: Unit 13 E Bad group of hunters ruining a great area!!

Default Unit 13 E Bad group of hunters ruining a great area!!

I have been hunting Moose and Caribou in unit 13 for 20+ years. 15 of them specifically in 13 E. Over the years the number of people that use this easily accessible area have grown by leaps and bounds. But I have been able to take my kids and teach them the ways of the woods with out fear of buck fever type hunters and mostly have met have met many good ethical ones in the field.

This season was definitely a different story. We had some issues with hunters that have no regard to hunter ethics. We clearly had our tarp set up so that the hunters that use the Nanana river system would be able to see that there were hunters in the area. We realize that it is not "Our" area but when I find a spot and realize that another hunter is already in the area I back out first come first served and all that. These guys brought 6 guys into a camp across the river and drove their boat around the river and slew on our side , road hunting like hicks spooking the animals and creating a distressed area it was pretty pathetic. Even after letting them know by means of yelling that we were in the area and had been for some time , they just kept at it. Unsuccessfully I might add. On top of this scenario as I went out to Cantwell to take care of some things I find someone had shot a cow Moose and left her to rot. Not only that but you could tell she was nursing when the coward shot her!!! My guess is it was the same group of hunters!!

Fortunately for us my son was able to take a nice fork horn bull. Right in front of the idiots when they finally stayed in camp. Great spot and stalk, then we brought the boat up and retrieved the animal simple effective. But watching this pristine Alaska area turn into a red neck road hunt really took the enjoyment out of what it means to hunt in Alaska. I hate to see us turn into the lower 48...but that is what I saw happening.